PNWIS 2019 Awards

At the 2019 PNWIS annual meeting in Butte, Montana in October, PNWIS held its' annual awards ceremony. The following were the recipients of this year's awards.

Jessica Stark

SLR International

Robert Stockman Distinguished Achievement Award

This award is presented annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to air and waste management in the PNWIS region and for a long-standing contribution to PNWIS.

Kumar Ganesan

Montana Tech

Educator Award

This award is presented to an educator in recognition of a long and outstanding contribution to the students of PNWIS.

Lanka DeSilva

Ramboll

The Young Professional of the Year Award

This award is presented to a young professional leader who has made an outstanding contribution to air and/or waste management in the PNWIS region and for their contributions to PNWIS.

Norma Job

Ash Grove Cement Company

PNWIS/A&WMA Executive Committee Award

This award is presented to recognize persons who have gone beyond the call of duty in their volunteer work for PNWIS.

Crystal Rau

NWCAA

Hawkeye Award

This award is presented to an inspector or internal auditor who diligently enforces regulations in the PNWIS region.

Dave Blankenship Bison Engineering

Hard Hat Award

This award is presented to a source tester or engineer who provides air pollution control or waste management through innovative techniques.

Christopher Hiltunen Bison Engineering

Lab Coat Award

This award is presented to a person demonstrating accomplishment toward pollution control through ambient air testing or waste analysis.

WET Consulting

Environmental Achievement Award

This award is presented to organizations that have used innovative techniques to reduce or prevent air pollution or waste.

Kali Cummings, WET Consulting Montana Tech

Media Award

This award is presented to a representative from the media who consistently presents accurate, balanced and in-depth information on the environment.

Neil Westesen, Crowley & Fleck

Excellence in Presentation

This award is presented for the best presentation of a paper or poster at the annual meeting.

Whitney Jurenic, Montana DEQ

YP Excellence in Presentation

This award is presented for the best presentation of a paper or poster at the annual meeting.

Kumar Ganesan and the PNWIS 2019 Planning Committeel

Bent Black Banana

This award is presented to some person for some reason! The award is on the "lighter side" and is generally presented for some unusual contribution at the annual meeting.

Susie Anderson, PNWIS 2019 Karen Helfrich, PNWIS 2019 Certificates of Appreciation/Recognition

These certificates are presented to individuals, firms, agencies, or other organizations that have made some significant contribution to the fields of air pollution control and waste management or to the volunteer work of PNWIS.

Willenberg-Hansen Chapter Recognition Program

Moby Award Alaska Chapter BC/Yukon Chapter Idaho Chapter Inland NW Chapter Montana Montana Tech Oregon Chapter Puget Sound Chapter University of Montana Vancouver Island Chapter

Student Paper Awards

- **Tie for First Place, Evan Norman, Montana Tech**, Quantifying Low-Impact Stream Restoration in Headwater Regions, \$350
- Tie for First Place, Loran Brooks, Montana Tech, Feasibility Study for Mine Waste Impacted Grove Gulch, Butte, MT, \$350
- Third Place, Jessie Bunker, Montana Tech, Modeling Rivers with Remote Sensing and Temperature Profiles: Potential for Application in Contaminated Transport, \$200

Environmental Challenge

First Place (\$1,500, plus sponsorship to attend and compete in the ECi at ACE 2020) *University: Western Washington University, Team Name: Kulshan Environmental* Team Members: Sarah Vanlandingham, Finn O'Hea, Madison Pongon, and Katie Knaub

Second Place (\$1,200) University: Montana Tech, Team Name: Uractive Consulting Team Members: Kori Reilly, Grace Mulholland, George Sidles IV

Third Place (\$800) University: Montana Tech, Team Name: H-4 Consulting Team Members: Kris Bosch, Laurel Bitterman, Raychel Hoerner, Carter Moerley

If you have ideas for nominees for our 2020 annual meeting located in Suquamish, Washington; please send them to:

Roylene Cunningham, PNWIS Awards Committee Co-Chair, c/o EPA Region 10, 1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 155 (20-C04), Seattle, Washington 98101, or email to <u>cunningham.roylene@epa.gov</u>; or

Laurel Peterson, PNWIS Awards Committee Co-Chair, c/o SLR International Corporation, 1800 Blankenship Road, Suite 440, West Linn, OR, 97068, or email to <u>Ipeterson@slrconsulting.com</u>.